Licenseless Driving in the State of Georgia

Licenseless Driving in the State of Georgia

Accident victims in Georgia who have an unlicensed driver injured may be confused about their legal rights and recourses. It’s possible the other driver won’t only be held financially responsible for the collision, but also held criminally liable. Depending on who caused the accident, they may also be responsible for your compensation.  Discuss your case with an experienced attorney.

It is important to remember that the severity of the consequences you face if you were driving without a license at the time of the accident, depends on whether you forgot or lost your license.

Driving Without a License Has Serious Repercussions

The severity of the penalties for driving without a license is determined by whether or not the offender ever held a legal license. Unlike if the driver’s license was expired, suspended, or revoked, the penalties for forgetting one’s license are usually less severe.

Reckless Driving Without a Current, Valid License

Operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license is a violation of O.C.G.A. 40-5-29. If they have a legal license, they can avoid paying the maximum $20 fee and get off with a $10 fine instead. A temporary paper license will do as well.

Doing Time for Driving Without a License

O.C.G.A. 40-5-20 makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle without a valid license. There are a number of scenarios where a driver would be in violation of this statute.

No legal license was ever issued to them.

They possessed a legitimate license that had been either suspended or revoked.

In other words, their license was legitimate, but it had since expired.

A number of factors, including whether or not this is the driver’s first infraction, will determine the seriousness of the charges. The penalty for driving without a license is severe.

We can talk about what steps you can take to safeguard your future if you’ve been charged with a more serious misdemeanor or felony.

How Using a Motor Vehicle Without a Valid Driver’s License Affects a Claim for Financial Damages

You may wonder what happens to your lawsuit or damage claim if you or the other driver involved in the collision does not have a valid license.

Remember that driving without a license is wrong but not careless. Establishing that a driver was careless and so accountable for the accident is not related to whether or not they had a valid license. Get the information you need from a car accident attorney in Atlanta.

Leave a Reply